Since last year, it was rumoured that WhatsApp is working on the recall feature where a user can delete a sent message. And the feature today went official as ‘Delete for Everyone.’ As the name itself suggests, you can delete the sent messages. WhatsApp has now updated its FAQ page for Android, iOS, and Windows Phone and stated that the feature is rolling out for all the users across the globe.
That said, you may not receive the feature right away as the update rollout is an incremental one. Currently, it is reported by WABetaInfo that users in Singapore and Spain are already receiving the feature, but there’s no info on Indian roll out though and I did not receive the feature even though being on the latest WhatsApp Beta version.
WhatsApp Delete for Everyone feature works in two ways- Delete for Everyone and Delete for Yourself. The former deletes the message in your chat and also the receiver’s chat, while the latter deletes the message only in your chat screen.
It’s also confirmed that a user can delete the message only before seven minutes after sending the SMS. “You can only delete messages for everyone for up to seven minutes after sending. Once seven minutes have passed, there is no way to delete messages for everyone,” stated WhatsApp in the FAQ section.
Furthermore, messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in your receiver’s chat. Similarly, if you see “This message was deleted” in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.
Additionally, delete messages for everyone works even in an individual chat or group chat. If you delete a message in the group, it will replace the text as message deleted by the user.
In case you’re wondering how to use this feature, here’s a quick guide:
- Open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you wish to delete.
- Tap and hold the message. Optionally, tap more messages to delete multiple messages at once.
- Tap Delete at the top of the screen > Delete for everyone or Delete for me.
That’s a pretty straightforward way to recalling a message. Did you receive the WhatsApp Delete for Everyone feature? Let us know by commenting below.
source by: telecomtalkShare: